pepsi v. coke v. bread

20110716-110944.jpgAs far as I can tell, there is no debate in France of Pepsi v. Coke.  Not sure if anyone really cares about the brands of soda – they’re more concerned about the quality of the wine.  And now that I think about it, I’m not certain that the Pepsi brand even exists in France.  Good thing I’m a Coke girl.

But what you may see in the countryside is not a random soda vending machine, but rather, a random bread vending machine.  This baby (above) was just sitting on the side of the road in Normandy, just screaming to have its picture taken.  We drove by it about 10 times and each time I told Tim that I needed to stop and take a picture of it, but we kept passing by it on our way to somewhere else.

Then, on the last day, when Owen and I went out on a cider buying mission (I’m talking hard, French cider here), I pulled the car over and told Owen to get out and take a picture.  He said, “But what if someone is watching me take a picture of a bread machine on the side of the road?  Won’t they think it’s strange?”

That’s when I gave him a piece of advice that sums up our experience in France.  I said, “If you feel bad every time someone thinks you’re strange, you’ll never leave your house.  Act like you know what you’re doing and take the picture.”

The end.

Leave a Reply

