Parlez-vous Français?

Last week started off a little rocky. When I was picking the boys up for lunch on Monday, I happened to run into one of the French teachers who gave me a very disapproving stare.  I had no idea what that the stare was about, until another teacher said, “It’s too bad he’s missing French today.”

WHAT!!?!?!  Missing French??!?!?!!!!

At that point it was too late to change the lunch plan for the day, so I left school with the kids, wondering:

a) Who was missing French

b) How long had he been missing French (and when was the class, since I was under the impression that it was currently lunchtime)

c) When was somebody going to tell me this directly (instead of by accident when I was walking out the door for lunch)

When I got back to school, I was determined to get to the bottom of this issue and after meeting with the school secretary (who seems very perplexed by me), it turns out that Owen has extra French 3 days per week for a bit of lunch (to get him up to speed with his French).  It also turns out that, of the 3 extra days of French, the boys were coming home with me for lunch on 2 of those days.  Bottom line: OWEN WAS MISSING HIS EXTRA FRENCH CLASSES 2 OUT OF 3 DAYS PER WEEK!

When I asked the school secretary why nobody had said anything, she replied, “We thought you knew and weren’t that concerned about your kids speaking French.”

I’m thinking the French image of Americans living abroad is slightly damaged.  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

