A classic move

As you all know, I’m learning French. Not only that, but I am a highly motivated French learner.  Since chatting with people is critical to my existence, I know that I won’t be able to chat well until I learn more French.

As luck would have it, there is a cultural center right around the corner from my house which offers beginner French classes. I got the schedule last week and have been mentally preparing for an entire week to attend the class today. Although I’m a motivated learner, I was still having to psych myself up to go. All morning I was working myself up make it to the hour and half long class which started at 2:30pm.

To start (and despite the fact that it is less than one block from my house) I was running a couple of minutes late, so when I walked into the class, I was scolded by the teacher in French. She said something to me and tapped her watch. Ooops. I was sitting there thinking that being prompt must be a part of French culture that I had yet to witness (in fact, it seems that everyone here is habitually late).

Imagine my surprise when the class ended 1/2 hour later!  As it turns out, I wasn’t a few minutes late, I was an HOUR late.  No wonder the teacher was tapping her watch at me.  Was the schedule printed incorrectly, you might be wondering?  No, the schedule was correct, but apparently I need some work reading time in French too.  Smooth move.  As Tim said, “You will be remembered.” Sadly, yes I will.

3 responses to “A classic move

  1. You could have told her you thought you’d test out of the first hour and join for the intermediate lesson.

  2. Ah yes, Merde is right.

Leave a Reply

