le hamburger

So I told you about the school lunches here – totally amazing! So rather than torture our kids with our American style boxed lunches, we decided that our kids should get to experience French life through lunch.  Voila!  Now, they get school lunch 2 times per week.

Yesterday was their first school lunch and they came home at the end of the day with rave reviews of the steak haché which is basically a hamburger without the bun. They loved every minute of the lunch experience, including the French cookies at the end.

I loved the whole thing too, until I had a conversation with the kids this morning (on our walk to school) that went something like this:

Me: I’m so glad you liked the lunch yesterday!
Owen: I LOVED it! It was like a hamburger with no bun!
Eamon: Yeah, it was so good. It came on a plate all cut up for us.
Owen: No it didn’t. Ours wasn’t cut up.
Eamon: Well, ours was.
Me: They probably cut it up for the littler kids because it’s harder for them to cut things.
Eamon: Yeah.
Owen: I guess that makes sense.
Me: So, you just cut yours up, right Owen?
Owen: No, I just picked it up and ate it.
Me: What?
Owen: I just picked it up and ate it, like you’re supposed to do with a hamburger.
Me: But, I……thought…..it……..had……..no……..bun……………………
Owen: It didn’t.
Me: YOU JUST PICKED IT UP AND ATE IT LIKE A HAMBURGER – WITH YOUR FINGERS!?!?!?!?
Owen: Yeah, of course! My friends were like, “Ewwwwwwwwwww! Why are you doing that,” because they were all using their forks and knives, but I told them, “This is how you eat a hamburger.”
Me: DID ANY TEACHERS SEE YOU?
Owen: Of course! They didn’t say anything.
Me: <deep silence>

I think we are entering the cultural (and likely social) abyss.

One response to “le hamburger

Leave a Reply

